Nelson Havi to head LSK after beating opponents in Presidential poll

Havi will be at the helm for a term of three years

Newly elected LSK President Nelson Havi
Newly elected LSK President Nelson Havi [Photo/ Courtesy]

In Brief

– The election was conducted on Thursday with four lawyers battling to occupy the lucrative seat.

– All beaten opponents have conceded.

– Top Lawyers in the country have issued their congratulatory statements.

Lawyer Nelson Havi has been elected President of the Law Society of Kenya. The announcement was made on Thursday evening after the conclusion of a poll conducted within the lawyers’ body. The vote casting exercise was carried throughout the country by legal scholars in different identified centers.

Also Read: Change of guard at KTDA as court upholds election of new directors

Mr. Havi trounced opponents Charles Kanjama, Harriet Chiggai, and Maria Mbeneka in an election that was conducted and supervised by the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC).

Shortly after results started streaming in showing Havi as having taken an early lead, the three contestants issued their concession statements. Mr. Kanjama was the first one among contestants to release his congratulatory message, stating that Havi’s election had raised confidence levels at the society.

Also Read: Transfer of Nairobi County functions to National Government unprocedural – Miguna

“I congratulate my classmate Nelson Havi on running a bold and effective campaign that has boosted the confidence of lawyers across the country,” said Kanjama.

Soon after the final announcement was made, laudatory messages started streaming in majorly from members of the profession. Among the top legal minds that congratulated Havi include Donald Kipkorir, Senator Kipchumba Murkomen, and Maria Mbeneeka.

Also Read: Supreme court jugde, Smokin Wanjala admitted at Apollo hospital in India

Havi’s first attempt to take over leadership at LSK was thwarted in 2017 after the society declared him unfit having not met the requirement of at least 15 years of legal practice. Havi has vowed to restore the society’s lost glory.

Others who have served in the position before include Former Chief Justice Willy Mutunga, Lawyer Okong’o Omogeni, and Donald Kipkorir.